BJP Ends Madhya Pradesh Suspense, Picks Mohan Yadav As Chief Minister

New Delhi:

Mohan Yadav has been chosen as the new Chief Minister of Madhya Pradesh, more than two weeks after the ruling BJP routed rivals Congress to retain control of the heartland state. Mr Yadav, the Higher Education Minister in the outgoing government, was elected from the Ujjain Dakshin seat.

A three-time MLA from the Ujjain district, the appointment of Mr Yadav, 58, has been widely seen as the end of the political road (at least in the state) for his predecessor, Shivraj Singh Chouhan.

The BJP, in a bid to contain ambitions and soothe ruffled feathers ahead of next year’s Lok Sabha election, has also named two deputy chief ministers – Jagdish Deora and Rajesh Shukla.

Ex-Union Agriculture Minister Narendra Singh Tomar, one of three former cabinet members to contest last month’s election, has been made Assembly Speaker. There was speculation Mr Tomar, who led the ministry during protests against farm laws, could succeed Mr Chouhan to the top post.

Source link