BJP’s Rajya Sabha members’ count from Assam increases to three

Biswajit Daimary elected unopposed four months after switching over from Bodoland People’s Front.

The Bharatiya Janata Party gained a member in the Rajya Sabha from Assam with Biswajit Daimary being elected unopposed on Friday.

Mr. Daimary had switched over from the Bodoland People’s Front in November 2020.

With his election, the number of BJP elders from Assam has increased to three.

The two others are Kamakhya Prasad Tasa and Bhubaneswar Kalita, who had joined the BJP after quitting the Congress in August 2019.

Assam sends seven members to the Rajya Sabha. Of the remaining four, two – Ripun Bora and Ranee Narah – represent the Congress, Birendra Prasad Baishya represents the Asom Gana Parishad, BJP’s ally, while Ajit Kumar Bhuyan is an independent.

You have reached your limit for free articles this month.

Subscription Benefits Include

Today’s Paper

Find mobile-friendly version of articles from the day’s newspaper in one easy-to-read list.

Unlimited Access

Enjoy reading as many articles as you wish without any limitations.

Personalised recommendations

A select list of articles that match your interests and tastes.

Faster pages

Move smoothly between articles as our pages load instantly.


A one-stop-shop for seeing the latest updates, and managing your preferences.


We brief you on the latest and most important developments, three times a day.

Support Quality Journalism.

*Our Digital Subscription plans do not currently include the e-paper, crossword and print.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *