Skip to content

Gautam Gambhir Joins Fabled Names to Coach Indian Men’s Cricket Team – Check Full List Here – News18

Gautam Gambhir Joins Fabled Names to Coach Indian Men’s Cricket Team – Check Full List Here – News18

Former Indian opener Gautam Gambhir was named as the new head coach of the men in blue as he replaced former coach Rahul Dravid, who stepped down from the illustrious role following the triumphant ICC T20 World Cup 2024 campaign in the Caribbean.

With his appointment at the helm of the men in blue, Gambhir joins an elite list of managers and coaches to have taken up the reins of the Indian national cricket team.

S. No Team Managers Tenure Nationality
1 Keki Tarapore 1971 India
2 Hemu Adhikari 1971-74 India
3 Gulabrai Ramchand 1975 India
4 Datta Gaekwad 1978 India
5 Salim Durrani 1980-81 India
6 Ashok Mankad 1982 India
7 PR Man Singh 1983-87 India
8 Chandu Borde 1988 India
Team Manager cum Coach
9 Bishan Singh Bedi 1990-91 India
10 Abbas Ali Baig 1991-92 India
11 Ajit Wadekar 1992-96 India
12 Sandeep Patil 1996 India
13 Madan Lal 1996-97 India
14 Anshuman Gaekwad 1997-99 India
15 Kapil Dev 1999-2000 India
16 John Wright 2000-05 New Zealand
17 Greg Chappell 2005-07 Australia
18 Ravi Shastri (Interim) 2007 India
19 Lalchand Rajput (Team Manager) 2007-08 India
20 Gary Kirsten 2008-11 South Africa
21 Duncan Fletcher 2011-15 Zimbabwe
-18 Ravi Shastri (team director) 2014-16 India
22 Sanjay Bangar (Interim) 2016 India
23 Anil Kumble 2016-17 India
-22 Sanjay Bangar (Interim) 2017 India
-18 Ravi Shastri 2017-21 India
24 Rahul Dravid 2021-2024 India
25 ย Gautam Gambhir 2024- India

The Indian national team was accompanied by ad hoc managers, up until legendary Bishan Singh Bedi took over as a manager cum coach of the side in the year 1990. The crafty Bedi is credited as the first full-time coach, he also acted in the capacity of the manager, as did his successor Abbas Ali Baig.

The responsibility and honour of being named the first out-and-out full-time head coach went to Ajit Wadekar, who took the reins of the team in the year 1992 and occupied the seat for four years.

The trend set by Wadekar, with one man coaching the side and a separate person taking charge of the managerial duties, persists to date and serves as a guiding light for those willing to aid the famous men in blue in pursuit of glory time and again.

The top job has been performed by Indians for the most part of the teamโ€™s history, with the exception of the first overseas coach of the Indian national team John Wright of New Zealand, who became the coach in the year 2000, Australian Greg Chapel who took charge in 2005, South African Gary Kirsten, who helped India to the 2011 ODI World Cup and Zimbabwean Duncan Fletcher, who succeeded the Protea after his curtain-call.

Dravid, the man who occupied the hot seat before Gambhirโ€™s appointment bid adieu to the men in blue as he bowed out in style after leading India to their second T20WC title.

Gambhir, known for his aggressive nature and approach to the game will have a huge bearing in shaping the future of the sport in the nation.

Source link

Discover more from Divya Bharat ๐Ÿ‡ฎ๐Ÿ‡ณ

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.