Have our stars forgotten to score a century: Only 1 century for India in Tests from 2020, 10 for England and 7 for Pakistan during this period

  • Hindi news
  • Sports
  • Cricket
  • Virat Kohli Joe Root | India Vs England Vs Pakistan Batsmen Test Century Records Update; How Many Centuries Scored By Players Since 2020

Fed up with Ads? Install Dainik Bhaskar app for news without ads

Chennai6 minutes ago

  • Copy link

England defeated Team India by 227 runs in the first Test match. For England, captain Joe Root scored a brilliant double century in the first innings. At the same time, India did not score a century. In Test cricket, the drought of centuries for Indian batsmen has been going on for the last almost a year.

India has played seven Test matches since 1 January 2020. Of these, only one century has been scored from India. During this time, more Test centuries have been scored by India than all the other Test teams of the world. Zimbabwe, Bangladesh and West Indies are also ahead of India.

England and Pakistan batsmen lead
Since 1 January 2020, 44 centuries have been scored in Test cricket so far. England have scored 10 centuries in 12 Tests. At the same time, seven centuries have been scored from Pakistan in 8 Tests. New Zealand has scored 6 centuries in seven Test matches.

6 centuries in only 7 Tests from New Zealand from 1 January 2020

Team Test Century
England 12 10
Pakistan 8 7
New zealand 7 6
Sri Lanka 6 5
Australia 5 4
Bangladesh 3 4
South Africa 7 3
West indies 6 2
Zimbabwe 3 2
India 7 1

Virat has played 4 Tests without scoring a century, Rohit Sharma ahead of him
Team India captain Virat Kohli himself is battling a century of drought. He has now played four consecutive Test matches without scoring a century. Of these, two Tests have been against New Zealand and one each against Australia and England. Virat scored his last century against Bangladesh in November 2019. At the same time, opener Rohit Sharma has not been able to score a century from five consecutive Test matches. Rohit scored his last Test century against South Africa in Ranchi in October 2019.

Cheteshwar Pujara has not scored a century from 14 Test matches
Cheteshwar Pujara, who bats at No. 3, only plays Tests in international cricket. He has not scored a single century from 14 consecutive Test matches. He scored his last century against Australia in Sydney in 2019. Since then he went above 50 runs six times but could not convert any of these innings into triple figures.

Rahane’s only 1 century in 9 Test matches
Ajinkya Rahane has scored just one century from Team India in Test cricket since January 1, 2020. He played a century in the Melbourne Test on the previous tour of Australia. The Indian team also won that match. However, Rahane has also played three consecutive Tests without a century since that match. Even before Melbourne, his five consecutive Tests had also passed without a century. Similarly, Rishabh Pant has not been able to score a century since the last 8 Tests. He scored his last century in January 2019 against Australia in Sydney.

Joe Root and Williamson lead with 3 centuries
If we talk about the batsmen who have scored the most centuries since January 1, 2020, then England captain Joe Root and New Zealand captain Ken Williamson are at the forefront. Root has scored three centuries in 11 Test matches during this period. He has scored three centuries in the last three consecutive Test matches. It has two double centuries. New Zealand captain Kane Williamson has scored three centuries in just five Tests.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.