India Vs South Africa 2nd Test: South Africa 35/1 at stumps on Day 1; Team India was reduced to 202 runs, captain Rahul’s fifty

  • Hindi News
  • Sports
  • Cricket
  • India Vs South Africa Johannesburg Test LIVE Update | KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Virat Kohli IND SA 1st Test Day 1

johannesburg8 hours ago

The first day of the second test match being played in Johannesburg went to South Africa. India suffered a setback before the start of the match when Virat Kohli could not play due to injury. KL Rahul, who took over the captaincy for the first time in his place, won the toss and decided to bat first. However, India did not get the advantage and the entire team was reduced to the score of just 202 runs. Rahul scored the highest 50 runs. Ravichandran Ashwin played an innings of 46 runs. Marco Jensen took 4 wickets for South Africa. Dan Olivier and Kagiso Rabada took 3 wickets each.

In reply, South Africa scored 35 runs for the loss of one wicket till the stumps on the first day. Captain Dean Elgar (11) and Keegan Pietersen (14) are not out. Both these batsmen have got one lifeline each. Team India’s fast bowler returned to the pavilion from the field due to a groin injury in the last part of the day.

Click here to see match score

Many of India’s great batsmen failed once again. Mayank Agarwal (26) could not convert a good start into a big score and became Jensen’s first victim. Cheteshwar Pujara (3) and Ajinkya Rahane (0) continued to be in poor form. Both were shown the way to the pavilion by Olivier on two consecutive balls. After this, Rahul and Hanuma Vihari (20) tried to handle the innings by sharing 42 runs for the fourth wicket.

Vihari was caught by Kagiso Rabada on a bouncer at the hands of a short leg fielder. He also got a lifeline on a personal score of 9 runs, but he could not take advantage of it. Rishabh Pant was dismissed by Jensen for just 17 runs. After this, Ashwin played aggressively and took India to a respectable score. Bumrah scored an unbeaten 14 to take India past the 200 mark.

Olivier double strike, Pujara and Rahane flop again
In the 24th over, African fast bowler Dan Olivier broke the back of the Indian team by taking two wickets in two consecutive balls. On the third ball of the over, he got Cheteshwar Pujara (3 runs) caught at the hands of Temba Bauma, fielding on points, and on the fourth ball, Ajinkya Rahane was dismissed for a golden duck. Keegan Pietersen caught Rahane at third slip.

  • Cheteshwar Pujara has not scored a century in the last 44 innings.
  • Ajinkya Rahane got out for zero for the 10th time.
  • Rahane has also not scored a century in the last 24 innings.
  • Dan Olivier completed his 50 Test wickets with the dismissal of Rahane.
  • Olivier (1486 balls) became the second African bowler to take 50 wickets in the shortest balls. First, Vernon Philander (1240 balls)
  • KL Rahul became the 8th Indian player to score 50+ scores on his Test debut as captain.

Pujara and Rahane have just one innings to save careers: Gavaskar
During the commentary of the match, Sunil Gavaskar said – There was already a lot of pressure on both the players, but now after getting out early in the first innings, this pressure has increased a lot. He has only one innings left to save his Test career. The Test careers of Pujara and Rahane depend on India’s next innings.

Rahul sixth captain in Wanderers
Team India had played 5 matches before this test in Johannesburg and all had different captains of the team. In this Test match, in the absence of Virat Kohli, KL Rahul is leading the team and he became the sixth player to captain India at this ground. In the first Test played at this ground in 1992, India was led by Mohammad Azharuddin. At the same time, Sachin Tendulkar was the captain of India during the 1997 tour. The team was led by Rahul Dravid in 2006 and MS Dhoni in 2013. In 2018, the Indian team played the Johannesburg Test under the leadership of Virat Kohli.

The special thing is that before Rahul, within the five captains, Team India did not lose a single match on this ground. Won 2 Tests and 3 draws in five.

Mayank’s innings got a break
Team India’s first wicket fell in the form of Mayank Agarwal. Mayank gave his easy catch to Kyle Verena behind the wicket on a coming ball from Marco Jensen. Mayank Agarwal returned to the pavilion after scoring 26 off 37 balls.

  • KL Rahul became the 34th player to captain India in Tests.
  • Jasprit Bumrah is the vice-captain of the team in this match.
Virat Kohli with team physio

Virat Kohli with team physio

Kohli out due to stiffness in the back
A few minutes before the toss, the news of Virat Kohli’s exit from this match came to the fore. In his place, Rahul came for the toss. Rahul told that Kohli has been ruled out of this test due to stiffness in the upper back. Hanuma Vihari has been included in the playing XI in place of Kohli. Shreyas Iyer was also not included in the playing XI of this match due to stomach upset.

PHOTO STORY of Virat’s fun and pain: Hit the new year, practiced fiercely before the match and then was out of the team due to pain

Chance to end 29 years of drought
In the last 29 years, the Indian team has not been able to win a Test series on African soil till date. After winning the first Test played in Centurion by 113 runs, Team India has a good chance of winning the historic series in the second match.

India’s coin runs in Johannesburg
Johannesburg can be called the stronghold of Team India. Actually, the Indian team has not lost a single test match on this ground till date. Here India has played a total of 5 Tests, out of which it has won two, while three matches have been drawn. In 1992, Team India played the first test match here. Whereas, the last test match was played in 2018. In these 29 years, the South African team has never been able to beat the Indian team.

Both teams-
SA (Playing XI):
Dean Elgar (c), Aiden Markram, Keegan Pietersen, Raisie van der Dusen, Temba Bauma, Kyle Verena (wk), Marco Jensen, Kagiso Rabada, Keshav Maharaj, Duane Olivier, Lungi Ngidi.

IND (Playing XI): KL Rahul (capt), Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Siraj.

There is more news…


Source link

%d bloggers like this: