Indian hockey team declared for Commonwealth Games: Manpreet, who won Olympic medal after 41 years, commanded the team, Rupinder out

  • Hindi News
  • Sports
  • Commonwealth Games India Hockey Team Squad 2022; Manpreet Singh, PR Sreejesh

New Delhi8 hours ago

  • copy link

Hockey India on Monday announced the Indian men’s hockey team for the Commonwealth Games. Manpreet Singh, who captained the team in the Tokyo Olympics, has been made the captain once again.

Under his captaincy, the Indian hockey team won the medal in the Olympics after a wait of 41 years. In this team, 11 players from Tokyo’s bronze medalist team have been given place. While four players have been dropped from the team.

Experienced goalkeepers PR Sreejesh, Krishna Bahadur Thapa have returned to the team after injury. Experience has been given in the team’s defence, midfield and forward.

Harmanpreet’s chance in place of Rupinder
Drag flicker Rupinder Pal Singh has been dropped from this team. He has defeated goalkeepers around the world with his drag flick. However, the reason for keeping Rupinder out is said to be his injury. He got injured just before the Asia Cup. Due to which he had to leave the tournament as well.

Drag-flicker Harmanpreet Singh has been given a chance in his place. Harmanpreet has scored the most goals in the FIH Pro Hockey League. He has also been made the vice-captain of the team.

First match against Ghana
The Commonwealth Games will be played from 28 July to 8 August in Birmingham. The Indian team is placed in Pool B along with England, Canada, Wales and Ghana. Team India will start its campaign against Ghana on July 31. Team India finished fourth in the 2018 Commonwealth Games.

India matches in CWG
first :
July 31, India v Ghana: 7:30 pm.
another : August 1, India v England: 7:30 pm.
third : August 3, India v Canada: 7:30 pm.
Chauth: August 4, India v Wales: 7:30 pm.

this is the team
Goalkeeper: PR Sreejesh, Krishna Bahadur Pathak.
Defender: Varun Kumar, Surendra Kumar, Harmanpreet Singh (Vice-captain), Amit Rohidas, Jugraj Singh, Jarmanpreet Singh.
Midfielder: Manpreet Singh (Captain), Hardik Singh, Vivek Sagar Prasad, Shamsher Singh, Akashdeep Singh, Nilakanta Sharma.
Forward: Mandeep Singh, Gurjant Singh, Lalit Kumar Upadhyay, Abhishek.

There is more news…

Source link

%d bloggers like this: