Sports news

Indian men’s football team announced for Asian Games: Sunil Chhetri will go with Under-23 team, Jhingan and goalkeeper Gurpreet did not get place.

  • hindi news
  • Sports
  • Sunil Chhetri; India Asian Games 2023 Football Team Players List Update

sports desk4 minutes ago

  • copy link

The Indian men’s football team has been announced for the Asian Games to be held in Hangzhou, China this month. The All India Football Federation (AIFF) announced the 18-member men’s squad on Wednesday (September 13).

Only U-23 football teams will compete in the Asian Games. In which only 3 senior players from all the teams will be able to participate. Earlier, when the 22-member Indian team was shortlisted on August 1, three senior players were included. The 3 senior players were Sandesh Jhingan, Gurpreet Singh Sandhu and Sunil Chhetri, but now only Chhetri has got a place.

India in Group A with hosts
There are 23 teams in the tournament, which are divided into six groups. Groups A, B, C, E and F have four teams each while Group D has three teams. India’s men’s team has been placed in Group A along with hosts China, Bangladesh and Myanmar.

India could not win a medal in football since 1970
The Asian Games will be held in Hangzhou, China from 23 September to 8 October this year. India has won 2 gold medals in the Asian Games (1951 and 1962). The team has also won a bronze medal in 1970.

Won SAFF Championship, also came in top 100
Under the leadership of Croatian coach Igor Stimac, the national team has once again entered the top-100 clubs in the FIFA rankings by winning the SAFF Championship.

Government gave special permission
The Indian men’s and women’s football teams have been given special permission by the Government of India for the Asiad. The Indian team was not allowed to play in the 2018 Asian Games. Sports Ministry rules say that only teams ranked in Asia Top-8 will be allowed to participate in the team event. The last time the team participated in the 2014 Asian Games.

Indian team for Asian Games: Gurmeet Singh, Dheeraj Singh, Sumit Rathi, Narendra Gehlot, Amarjeet Singh Kiyam, Samuel James, Rahul KP, Abdul Rabih, Ayush Dev Chhetri, Bryce Miranda, Azfar Noorani, Rahim Ali, Vinci Barreto, Sunil Chhetri, Rohit Danu, Gurkeerat Singh and Aniket Jadhav.

There is more news…

Source link