Ministry clears appointment of more judges for Delhi, Kerala high courts

The Law Ministry on Monday notified the appointment of new judges to the High Courts of Kerala and Delhi and the elevation of additional judges for the Karnataka High Court as permanent judges.

โ€œThe President of India appointed Shri Jasmeet Singh and Shri Amit Bansal as the Judges of the Delhi High Court,โ€ a Law Ministry statement said.

In Kerala, Murali Purushothaman, Ziyad Rahman Alevakkatt Abdul Rahiman, Karunakaran Babu and Kauser Edappagath have been elevated a judges.

Mr. Purushothaman and Mr. Rahiman were elevated from the Bar and Mr. Karunakaran Babu and Dr. Edappagath have been appointed from the judicial services.

The Supreme Court Collegium had recommended their appointments last August.

Four additional Judges of the Karnataka High Court โ€” Singapuram Raghavachar Krishna Kumar, Ashok Subhashchandra Kinagi, Suraj Govindaraj and Sachin Shankar Magadum โ€” who were appointed as additional judges in September 2019, were also made permanent judges through a notification.

You have reached your limit for free articles this month.

Subscription Benefits Include

Today’s Paper

Find mobile-friendly version of articles from the day’s newspaper in one easy-to-read list.

Unlimited Access

Enjoy reading as many articles as you wish without any limitations.

Personalised recommendations

A select list of articles that match your interests and tastes.

Faster pages

Move smoothly between articles as our pages load instantly.


A one-stop-shop for seeing the latest updates, and managing your preferences.


We brief you on the latest and most important developments, three times a day.

Support Quality Journalism.

*Our Digital Subscription plans do not currently include the e-paper, crossword and print.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *