Motera will get Lord’s ticket: Two Tests from England at this ground, India need at least one win and one draw for Test Championship final

  • Hindi news
  • Sports
  • Cricket
  • India England or Australia Who Will Qualify ?; ICC World Test Championship Final Qualification Scenarios | WTC Points Table Latest Update

Fed up with Ads? Install Dainik Bhaskar app for news without ads

Ahmedabad32 minutes ago

  • Copy link

The last two matches of the 4-Test series between India and England will be played at Motera Stadium in Ahmedabad. At the moment, the series is on par with 1-1. These are the two matches that will give Team India a ticket to the final of the ICC Test Championship. At the moment, Team India holds the number-2 position after New Zealand in the points table of championships.

If the Indian team has to play the final, it will have to remain in the top-2. For this, India needs to win at least one win and one draw in the last two matches. If one of the two matches is lost, the team will be eliminated from the final race.

The final will be held at Lord’s from June 18
The ICC is conducting the World Test Championships for the first time. The final is to be played at Lord’s Cricket Ground from 18 June.

New Zealand reached finals, England-Australia also chance
New Zealand have already confirmed their place in the finals. At the same time, England have to win both the matches to reach the final of the championship. If the series draws to 2-2 or 1-1 then Australia will advance to the finals. Apart from this, if England team wins this series 2-1, then also Australia will reach the final.

Change in format of points table due to corona
Corona had a big impact on cricket. Due to this, the ICC made a slight change in the format of the points table of Test championships, so that there is no discrimination with the team playing less matches. The Cricket Committee of the ICC, led by Anil Kumble, decided to calculate the ranking of teams on a percentage basis. In this new system, percentage is being extracted based on the series played by the teams and their points in that series.

How does the new system work?
A team can get a maximum of 720 points if they play all six series. If the team has a total of 480 points in six series, then its percentage point will be 66.67%. At the same time, if a team plays only five series then the maximum points will be 600. If this team playing five series has 450 points, then its percentage points will be 75%. In such a situation, the team playing five series will be above the team scoring 480 points after playing six series.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *