Sports news

Mujeeb out of T-20 series against Sri Lanka: Injured Rashid will also not play, Ibrahim Zadran will take command; Series from 17th February

3 minutes ago

  • copy link

Afghan bowler Mujeeb ur Rahman will not play in the T-20 series between Sri Lanka and Afghanistan. He is out of the series due to injury. Meanwhile, the permanent captain of the Afghanistan team, Rashid Khan will also not be a part of this series due to back surgery. Afghanistan Cricket Board has announced a 16-member squad for the three-match T20 series against Sri Lanka starting from February 17.

In a statement issued by the Afghanistan Cricket Board, it has been said that Mujeeb Ur Rahman had suffered an injury to his right hand in the first match of the ODI series against Sri Lanka. Because of which he has not been given a place in the team for the T-20 series. He has also been ruled out of the third and last ODI against Sri Lanka.

Fast bowler Salim is also not a part of the team
Apart from Mujeeb and Rashid, fast bowler Mohammad Salim is also not a part of the team. Salim has not been able to recover from hamstring injury yet. Four changes in Afghanistan team on Indian tour
Afghanistan has made four changes from the team that toured India last month to play the T20 series. Mujeeb and Salim Jahan are not included in the 16-member squad due to injury. Whereas wicket-keeper batsmen Ikram Alikhil and Rahmat Shah have been dropped. Whereas Mohammad Ishaq has been given place as wicketkeeper batsman. Ishaq was part of the team in the only test match against Sri Lanka.
Mujeeb played two T-20 matches in India. Before the ODI series on the Sri Lanka tour, Mujeeb played for the Gulf Giants in the ILT20, where he suffered an injury.
Whereas Salim played his third T20 match against India and only Test match against Sri Lanka. He suffered a hamstring injury during the Test match, after which he was ruled out of the three-match ODI series.
Meanwhile, regular captain Rashid Khan has not played cricket since the ODI World Cup held in India last year. Although he was a part of the team on the Indian tour, he was dropped even before the start of the T20 series. He was getting along with the team throughout the series. This season Rashid also withdrew from BBL. He was also dropped from South Africa T-20. Rashid has also withdrawn his name from PSL.

Ibrahim Zadran will continue captaining in T20 against Sri Lanka
Ibrahim Zadran will continue the captaincy in the T20 against Sri Lanka. Earlier, in the absence of Rashid, he had captained the team in the T20 series against India and the T20 series against UAE. The top order will have players like Rahmanullah Gurbaz, followed by Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Hazratullah Jajarh and Azmatullah Omarzai. Fazalhaq Farooqui will lead the fast bowling attack, which also features Naveen-ul-Haq, Fareed Ahmed and Momand. Noor Ahmed and Qais Ahmed will handle the spin bowling along with Sharafuddin Ashraf.

Afghanistan team: Ibrahim Zadran (captain), Rehmanullah Gurbaz (wk), Mohammad Ishaq (wk), Hazratullah Zazai, Gulbadin Naib, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Azmatullah Umarzai, Karim Janat, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Fazalhaq Farooqui, Farid Ahmed, Naveen-ul-Haq. , Noor Ahmed, Loyal Momand and Qais Ahmed

There is more news…

Source link