Mukesh, Naushad likely to be in the fray

K.N. Balagopal may get Kottarakara, Mercykutty Ammaโ€™s name recommended for Kundara

M. Mukesh and M. Naushad, legislators representing the Kollam and Eravipuram Assembly constituencies, will enter the electoral fray for the second time as per the primary list prepared by the Communist Party of India (Marxist) district secretariat.

In all probability, State secretariat member and former Rajya Sabha MP K.N. Balagopal will contest from Kottarakara.

P. Aisha Potty, the sitting MLA, has completed three consecutive terms. The district leadership has also decided to field Sujith Vijayan, son of the late MLA Vijayan Pillai, in Chavara.

In Kundara

The CPI(M) has a total of five seats in the district and Fisheries Minister J. Mercykutty Amma is likely to contest from Kundara if the party approves the recommendation of the district secretariat and decides to relax the guidelines for her. One of the two women Ministers in the State Cabinet, her name was recommended considering her chances for winning.

According to party guidelines, leaders who have contested and won Assembly elections twice are not expected to contest again and there is also pressure to include more new faces on the candidatesโ€™ list.

The State secretariat will take the final call on the candidates by March first week and if Ms. Mercykutty Ammaโ€™s candidature is rejected, Chintha Jerome and S.L. Sajikumar are the other names doing rounds.

The Left coalition had won all Assembly seats in the district in 2016 and the leadership is keen on preparing a solid candidate list to retain the fortress.

Ganesh in Pathanapuram

While K.B. Ganesh Kumar of the Kerala Congress (B) will be contesting from Pathanapuram once again, the LDF will support Kovoor Kunjumon, the Revolutionary Socialist Party (Leninist) leader who has won four consecutive terms from Kunnathur.

Though the Kerala Congress (B) sought a second seat in Kottarakara, the Left Democratic Front could not accommodate it.

Since the Communist Party of India (CPI) has also decided not to field leaders who have contested more than three times, Forest Minister K. Raju may not contest from Punalur and chances are very grim for Chadayamangalam MLA Mullakkara Ratnakaran as well to be in the fray again.

You have reached your limit for free articles this month.

Subscription Benefits Include

Today’s Paper

Find mobile-friendly version of articles from the day’s newspaper in one easy-to-read list.

Unlimited Access

Enjoy reading as many articles as you wish without any limitations.

Personalised recommendations

A select list of articles that match your interests and tastes.

Faster pages

Move smoothly between articles as our pages load instantly.


A one-stop-shop for seeing the latest updates, and managing your preferences.


We brief you on the latest and most important developments, three times a day.

Support Quality Journalism.

*Our Digital Subscription plans do not currently include the e-paper, crossword and print.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.