Skip to content

‘Mumbai Cha Raja, Rohit Sharma’: Mumbaikars Celebrate Historic Achievement of ‘Homeboy’ at ICC T20WC Homecoming – News18

‘Mumbai Cha Raja, Rohit Sharma’: Mumbaikars Celebrate Historic Achievement of ‘Homeboy’ at ICC T20WC Homecoming – News18

Team India rocked up to Mumbai on Thursday for the open-top bus parade and the felicitation ceremony at the Wankhede after their ICC T20 World Cup 2024 triumph in the Caribbean.

India ended an 11-year trophy drought with their 7-run win over debutant finalists South Africa in the summit clash of the ICC showpiece at Kensington Oval on Saturday.

Fans took to the streets in celebration ahead of the parade and the following commemoration ceremony and the loudest chants were reserved for the skipper of the Indian team, who also has a fervent following in the Maximum city, Rohit Sharma.

Chants of ‘Mumbai Cha Raja, Rohit Sharma’ (King of Mumbai, Rohit Sharma) were on everyone’s lips as the team India faithful geared up to welcome their heroes to their streets for celebrations.

Team India landed in New Delhi on Thursday morning and met with Prime Minister Narendra Modi with the coveted prize, before flying down to Mumbai, in a tribute flight, aptly called Vistara UK1845, a nod to the contributions of Rohit and star batter Virat Kohli.

ALSO READ| Team India Victory Parade Live Updates: Massive Crowd at Marine Drive Despite Rain as Rohit And Co Land in Mumbai

The team also scripted history in the victory as they became the first team to clinch the T20WC title without being beaten throughout the tournament.

India’s previous ICC trophy came in the year 2013 as the MS Dhoni-led men in blue picked up the Champions Trophy. The Men in Blue also managed to collect their first World Cup after their 2011 ODI WC success on home soil, also under the leadership of Dhoni.

The victory in Barbados also marked the second time the men in blue got their hands on the ICC T20 WC as they added to the 2007 triumph in the inaugural edition of the tournament.

Rohit, Kohli and Ravindra Jadeja all announced their retirement from the shortest format of the game in the Indian drip following the triumph.

Source link

Discover more from Divya Bharat 🇮🇳

Subscribe to get the latest posts sent to your email.