New Zealand vs West Indies: Williamson and Bolt rest from T20, Monroe out of the team; Conway and Jameson get a chance

  • Hindi news
  • Sports
  • West Indies Tour Of New Zealand New Zealand Devon Conway And Kyle Jamieson Picked For T20s New Zealand Vs West Indies

Fed up with Ads? Install Dainik Bhaskar app for news without ads

new Delhi24 minutes ago

  • Copy link

New Zealand coach Gary Stead said he wanted to keep Williamson and Bolt fit for the World Test Championship. – File photo

New Zealand announced the team on Tuesday for the home series against the West Indies. Kane Williamson and Trent Boult were rested in the T20 series. At the same time, Colin Munro was not included in the team. Wellington batsman Devon Conway was included in the T20 squad for the first time. New Zealand have to play 3 T20 and 2 Tests against the Windies.

Jamieson got a chance to perform brilliantly against India

Fast bowler Kyle Jameson, who made his debut against India in early 2020, was also included in the T20. Jamieson took 9 wickets in 2 Tests against India. At the same time, he took 3 wickets in 2 ODIs. Fast bowler Tim Southee will lead the T20 squad. Batsman Glenn Phillips also returned to New Zealand. Glenn scored 316 runs in 10 matches of the Caribbean Premier League at a strike rate of 127.41.

Williamson and Bolt Focus on Test Match

New Zealand coach Gary Stead said that we welcome Devon Conway to the national team. He is expected to use his experience in the series against the Windies. He said, ‘We took this decision to keep Williamson and Bolt fresh in the Test match. We are eyeing the World Test Championship. After a 2–0 win at the start of the year against India, we want Williamson and Bolt to be fit for the Test.

The New Zealand team is as follows:

T20 team- Tim Southee (captain), Hamish Bennett, Devon Conway, Loki Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jameson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Seifert (wicketkeeper), Ross Taylor

Test Team Kane Williamson (captain), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Coleen de Grandholm, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ejaz Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wegner, BJ Watling (wicketkeeper), Will Young

2 T20 matches to be played in Mount Mongui

The series will begin with 3 T20 matches. The first T20 match will be played on 27 November in Auckland, the second and third T20 will be played on 29 and 30 November in Mount Mongui. After this, the first Test match from December 3 will be played in Hamilton and the second Test match from December 11 in Wellington.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *