No candidates for 139 GP seats of Chikkamagaluru district

There are no candidates for 139 seats of gram panchayats in Chikkamagaluru district, going for polls on December 22. Among the 2,139 total seats of 209 gram panchayats, elections will be held for 1,893 seats. Representatives have been elected unopposed for 107 seats.

In response to Karnataka Growers’ Federation’s call to boycott the elections opposing the implementation of Dr. K. Kasturirangan’s report on the Western Ghats, residents of many panchayats in Chikkamagaluru, N.R.Pura, Mudigere taluks are not taking part. Among the seats for which there are no contenders, 70 are in Chikkamagaluru taluk, 33 in Mudigere and 28 in N.R. Pura taluk.

Senior officers of the district administration had appealed to the public to take part.

The farming community took out a protest in Chikkamagaluru town on Tuesday opposing the implementation of the report. The Kasturirangan Varadi Virodhi Horata Samiti had organized the protest.

The participants raised slogans against the report, citing that it would affect the farmers in villages close to the Western Ghats. The protesters also criticized elected representatives for their silence on the issue.

You have reached your limit for free articles this month.

Subscription Benefits Include

Today’s Paper

Find mobile-friendly version of articles from the day’s newspaper in one easy-to-read list.

Unlimited Access

Enjoy reading as many articles as you wish without any limitations.

Personalised recommendations

A select list of articles that match your interests and tastes.

Faster pages

Move smoothly between articles as our pages load instantly.


A one-stop-shop for seeing the latest updates, and managing your preferences.


We brief you on the latest and most important developments, three times a day.

Support Quality Journalism.

*Our Digital Subscription plans do not currently include the e-paper, crossword and print.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *