Puducherry CM Narayanasamy loses trust vote

The confidence motion moved by Chief Minister V. Narayanasamy was defeated on the floor of the House on February 22. Mr. Narayanasamy is heading to Raj Nivas to tender his resignation.

Moving the motion, the Chief Minister lashed out at former Lieutenant Governor Kiran Bedi, saying she had “conspired” against the government on matters including revenue generation. “Those rejected by people conspired to topple our government but we stayed firm due to our resilience,” he said.

A legislator each from the Congress and the DMK resigned from their posts on Sunday, leaving the Narayanasamy-led Puducherry government grasping at straws ahead of Monday’s trust vote in the Assembly.

In total, six MLAs, including five from the Congress, have quit, while a legislator from the national party was disqualified earlier.

The resignations have brought down the House strength to 26, with the ruling combine — the Congress (9), the DMK (2) and an Independent — having only 12 legislators.

You have reached your limit for free articles this month.

Subscription Benefits Include

Today’s Paper

Find mobile-friendly version of articles from the day’s newspaper in one easy-to-read list.

Unlimited Access

Enjoy reading as many articles as you wish without any limitations.

Personalised recommendations

A select list of articles that match your interests and tastes.

Faster pages

Move smoothly between articles as our pages load instantly.


A one-stop-shop for seeing the latest updates, and managing your preferences.


We brief you on the latest and most important developments, three times a day.

Support Quality Journalism.

*Our Digital Subscription plans do not currently include the e-paper, crossword and print.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *