Rajya Sabha Elections: Congress Wins Seat In Haryana, Beats BJP-Backed Media Baron

Haryana Rajya Sabha elections: Congress and BJP won one seat each


The Congress’s Ajay Maken and the BJP’s Krishan Lal Panwar won the Rajya Sabha elections from Haryana, which has only two seats. The Election Commission started counting votes at 1 am on Saturday – eight hours late – after both parties approached it alleging violation of rules by MLAs in casting votes.

Media baron Kartikeya Sharma, who contested as an independent backed by the BJP and its ally Jannayak Janata Party, polled 27 votes.

Mr Maken polled 30 votes and Mr Panwar 31.

Out of 90 MLAs, 89 cast their vote, one independent abstained and one vote was rejected, but it is not known whose vote it was.

Source link

%d bloggers like this: