Ravindra Jadeja, Jasprit Bumrah Return As BCCI Announces Squads For World Test Championship Final and England Test Series | Cricket News

Ravindra Jadeja and Jasprit Bumrah returned as the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced a 18-member squad for the World Test Championship final against New Zealand and the five-match Test series against England. Hanuma Vihari, who missed the Test series against England with an injury, has also made a comeback to the side. The selectors also named KL Rahul and Wriddhiman Saha in the squad but their inclusion is “subject to fitness clearance”, the BCCI tweeted. All-rounder Hardik Pandya and leg-spinner Kuldeep Yadav, who were part of the home Test series against England, have been dropped.

KL Rahul was recently hospitalised after being diagnosed with acute appendicitis, while Saha tested positive for COVID-19 while he was in the SunRisers Hyderabad’s bio-bubble.

The BCCI also named three standby players — Abhimanyu Easwaran, Prasidh Krishna, Avesh Khan, Arzan Nagwaswalla — who will board the flight to England.


Prasidh Krishna impressed one and all during his limited-overs debut against England, while Avesh Khan was Delhi Capitals’ standout bowlers during the IPL 2021 — that has been suspended indefinitely.

India’s squad: Virat Kohli (capt), Ajinkya Rahane (vice capt), Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wk), Ravichnadran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Washington Sundar, Jasprit Bumrah, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur, Umesh Yadav.

Topics mentioned in this article


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.