Latest News

SIIMA 2023 Winners Day 2: PS 1 Wins Best Tamil Film, Lokesh Best Director; Tovino Bags Best Actor – News18

SIIMA 2023 Winners Day 2: The second day of the prestigious awards show South Indian International Awards (SIIMA) concluded on Saturday night and some of the best works in Tamil and Malayalam cinema were honoured at the event. Stars such as Kamal Haasan, Trisha, Mani Ratnam, Lokesh Kanagaraj and R Madhavan in Tamil, and Rajesh Madhavan, Vineeth Sreenivasan and Kunchacko Boban from the Malayalam film industry won big awards at the event. On the Tamil front, Mani Ratnamโ€™s magnum opus Ponniyin Selvan 1 took home the Best Film award whereas, in the Malayalam industry, the crime comedy film Nna Thaan Case Kodu won Best Film.

In Tamil, Best Actor in a Leading Role was presented to R Madhavan for his performance in Rocketry. He also won the Best Director Debut for the same movie. Kamal Haasan won Popular Choice For Best Actor for Vikram. Trisha took home the Popular Choice For Best Actress for her performance in PS 1. Meanwhile, Lokesh won Best Director for Vikram. The complete list was shared by trade expert Manobala V on X.

Check out the SIIMA 2023 winners (Tamil) below:

Best Debut Actress – Aditi (Viruman)

Best Debut Actor – Pradeep Ranganathan (Love Today)

Best Debut Director – Madhavan (Rocketry)

Best Actor In Comedy Role – Yogi Babu (Love Today)

Best Actor In Negative Role – SJ Suryah ( Don)

Best Supporting Actor (Male) – Kaali Venkat (Gargi)

Best Supporting Actress (Female) – Vasanthi (Vikram)

Best Production Designer – Thota Tharani (PS1)

Best Lyric Writer – Ilango Krishnan (Ponni Nadhi)

Best Cinematographer – Ravi Varman (PS1)

Achievement Award – Mani Ratnam

Best Playback Singer (Male) – Kamal Haasan (Pathala Pathala)

Best Playback Singer (Female) – Jonita (Arabic Kuthu)

Popular Choice Best Actress – Trisha (PS1)

Popular Choice Best Actor – Kamal Haasan (Vikram)

Best Actress Critics – Keerthy Suresh (Saani Kaayidham)

Best Actor in a Leading Role – Madhavan (Rocketry)

Best Music Director –ย Anirudh R (Vikram)

Best Film – Ponniyin Selvan 1

Best Director – Lokesh Kanagaraj (Vikram)

ALSO READ: SIIMA Awards 2023: Jr NTR Is Best Actor, Mrunal Thakur Wins Best Debutante For Sita Ramam

In the Malayalam industry, as reported by Times of India, below are the winners:

Best Lyricist: Vinayak Sasikumar (Parudeesa, from Bheeshma Parvam)

Best Playback Singer (Female) – Mridula Warrier (Mayilpeeli, from Pothanpatham Noottandu)

Best Cinematography: Sharan Velayudhan (Saudi Vellakka)

Best Debut Actor: Ranjith Sajeev (Mike)

Best Debut Actress: Gayathrie Shankar (Nna Thaan Case Kodu)

Best Supporting Actress: Bindu Panicker (Rorschach)

Best Supporting Actor: Lal (Mahaveeryar)

Special Jury Award: Basil Joseph (Jaya Jaya Jaya Jaya Hey)

Best Debut Director: Mukundan Unni Associates

Best Actor in Comedy Role: Rajesh Madhavan (Nna Thaan Case Kodu)

Best Actor in a Negative Role: Vineeth Sreenivasan (Mukundan Unni Associates)

Best Actress in a Leading Role: Kalyani Priyadarshan (Bro Daddy)

Best Actress in a Leading Role (Critics): Darshana Rajendran (Jaya Jaya Jaya Jaya Hey)

Best Actor in a Leading Role (Critics): Kunchacko Boban (Nna Thaan Case Kodu)

Best Actor in a Leading Role: Tovino Thomas (Thallumaala)

Best Director: Vineeth Sreenivasan (Hridayam)

Best Film: Nna Thaan Case Kodu

Best Debut Producer: Meppadiyan

Congratulations to all the winners.

Source link