UEFA Euro 2020: France and Germany in Group F with defending champions Portugal, tournament to be held in June next year

  • Hindi news
  • Sports
  • UEFA EURO 2020 EURO CUP France And Germany In Group F With Defending Champions Portugal, Tournament To Be Held In June Next Year

Fed up with Ads? Install Dainik Bhaskar app for news without ads

new Delhi23 minutes ago

  • Copy link

The group has been announced for the 2021 UEFA Euro Cup. Defending Euro champions Portugal are placed in the group of death. They are placed in Group F along with World champions France, Germany and Hungary. At the same time, 3-time Euro champions Spain were placed in Group E along with Sweden, Poland and Slovakia. Only countries in Europe take part in this championship.

Group Country
Group a Turkey, Italy, Wales, Switzerland
Group b Denmark, Finland, Belgium, Russia
Group c Netherlands, Ukraine, Austria, Northern Macedonia
Group d England, Croatia, Scotland, Czech Republic
Group e Spain, Sweden, Poland, Slovakia
Group f Hungary, Portugal, France, Germany

This will be the 16th edition of the UEFA Euro Cup. It was earlier scheduled for June 2020, but was postponed due to Corona. Now the tournament will be held between 11 June to 11 July 2021. However, UEFA President Michel Platini announced the name of the tournament as UEFA Euro 2020. The video assistant referee will also be used for the first time in the tournament.

Portugal defeated France in the final of the 15th edition in 2016. Spain and Germany have held this title the most 3-3 times. Spain won the Euro Championship titles in 1964, 2008 and 2012. At the same time, Germany had its names in 1972, 1980 and 1996. World champions France won these titles in 1984 and 2016.

Country How many times (years) Runner up
Spain 3 1964, 2008, 2012 1 (1984)
Germany 3 1972, 1980, 1996 3 (1976, 1992, 2008)
France 2 1984, 2000 1 (2016)
Italy 1 1968 2 (2000, 2012)
Portugal 1 2016 1 (2004)
Denmark 1 1992 1 (1996)
Netherlands 1 1988 2 (1960, 1968)
Greece 1 2004 1 (1980)
Czech Republic 1 1976
Soviet Union 1 1960
Yugoslavia 2 (1960, 1968)
Belgium 1 (1980)

The Euro Cup will be held in 12 countries of the UEFA. These include Azerbaijan, Denmark, England, Germany, Hungary, Italy, Netherlands, Republic of Ireland, Romania, Russia, Scotland and Spain.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.