VIDEO of uproar over Pant’s catch: Dussen’s catch went to Pant’s gloves after hitting the ground, the African captain’s objection was dismissed


johannesburg3 hours ago

On the second day of the second Test between India and South Africa in Johannesburg, there was a dispute over a catch of Pant. Just before lunch, Shardul took the wicket of Raisie van der Dussen. Van der Dussen’s catch was caught by Rishabh Pant behind the wicket and lunch was also done with this wicket.

Onfield umpire’s decision upheld

Replays then showed that the ball had hit the ground before reaching Pant’s gloves. However, the batsman Dusen did not appeal for it and the umpire also felt that the catch was clean. It was later reported that the umpires had seen replays during lunch and found that the evidence for no catch was insufficient. The decision of the onfield umpire would remain the same even if the decision was referred to the third umpire. So the umpires did not ask the Indian team if they wanted to recall the batsman.

African captain Elgar reached the third umpire
Video of racy’s wicket. The African team also watched, after which the team’s captain Dean Elgar and the team manager approached the third umpire. Both also appealed against giving wrong out to Raisey. After this, the third umpire said that the footage did not prove that the ball hit the ground before going into Pant’s gloves, so Indian captain KL Rahul cannot be spoken to on Dussen’s wicket.

If the third umpire felt that Van der Dussen was not out, he could have asked KL Rahul to withdraw the appeal and if Rahul agreed, Raisey could have been called back to bat.

Gavaskar also raised questions
The commentator also believed that Dussen is not out. Former Indian captain Sunil Gavaskar said that if the batsman had even the slightest doubt, why did he not stop or he should have appealed. Van der Dussen departs after scoring 1 run off 17 balls.

There is more news…

,



Source link

%d bloggers like this: