Skip to content

West Indies’ biggest win in T20 World Cup: Defeated Uganda by 134 runs; Akeel Hosein took 5 wickets

West Indies’ biggest win in T20 World Cup: Defeated Uganda by 134 runs; Akeel Hosein took 5 wickets

Sports Desk1 day ago

  • copy link

In the 18th match of the ICC T20 World Cup 2024, West Indies defeated Uganda by 134 runs. This is the biggest win of West Indies in terms of runs in the T20 World Cup. At the same time, this is the second biggest win in the history of the tournament. The biggest win is registered in the name of Sri Lanka. The team defeated Kenya by 172 runs in the 2007 T20 World Cup.

After winning the toss, West Indies gave Uganda a target of 174 runs. In reply, Uganda’s team was all out for 39 runs in 12 overs. Uganda has equaled the lowest score in T-20. Earlier in 2014, Netherlands was also all out for 39 runs against Sri Lanka.

Akeel Hossain took the most 5 wickets for West Indies. He conceded just 11 runs during this period. This is the best bowling figure for West Indies in the T20 World Cup. He was adjudged the Player of the Match.

West Indies is at second place in Group C with its second consecutive win in this World Cup. Afghanistan is at the top of this group. Both the teams have won both the matches consecutively and both have 4-4 points, but the Afghan team is at the top due to better run rate. Analysis of the match…

1. Match Winner

Heroes of the Match

  • Alzari Joseph: Apart from Hosein, Joseph took two wickets for West Indies. He gave away just 6 runs in 3 overs at an economy of 2.00. He dismissed Brian Masaba and Frank Nsubuga.
  • Johnson Charles : Charles was the top scorer for Windies. He scored 44 runs in 42 balls. He shared a 41-run partnership in 24 balls with Brandon King for the first wicket. This was the biggest partnership of the match.
  • Andre Russell : In the last overs of the West Indies innings, Andre Russell scored an unbeaten 30 runs off 17 balls with the help of six fours. During this, his strike rate was 176.47.

3. Fighter of the Match
Uganda captain Brian Masaba was the fighter of the match. Masaba took 2 wickets in his spell, but could not lead his team to victory. He sent Windies captain Rovman Powell and Nicholas Pooran to the pavilion.

West Indies innings: Johnson Charles scored 44 runs off 42 balls
West Indies won the toss and decided to bat first. Batting first, West Indies scored 173 runs in 20 overs losing 5 wickets. For West Indies, Johnson Charles scored 44 runs in 42 balls, while in the last overs Russell scored an unbeaten 30 runs with the help of 6 fours in 17 balls. For Uganda, captain Brian Masaba took 2 wickets for 31 runs.

Captain Brian Masaba took 2 wickets for 31 runs.

Captain Brian Masaba took 2 wickets for 31 runs.

Uganda innings: 10 players of the team could not reach double figures
Uganda had a very bad start while chasing the big target of 174 runs. The team’s first wicket fell in the very first over, when Akeel Hossein sent Roger Mukasa to the pavilion without opening the account. 10 Ugandan players could not reach double figures. Juma Miyagi scored the highest 13 runs for the team. Apart from Hossein, Alzari Joseph got 2 wickets. Romario Shepherd, Andre Russell and Gudakesh Moti got 1-1 wickets.

Playing-11 of both the teams
West Indies: Rovman Powell (captain), Brandon King, Johnson Charles, Nicholas Pooran (wicketkeeper), Roston Chase, Sherfane Rutherford, Andre Russell, Romario Shepherd, Akeal Hosein, Alzari Joseph and Gudakesh Moti.

Uganda : Brian Masaba(captain), Simon Sesaji (wicket-keeper), Roger Mukasa, Robinson Obuya, Robinson Obuya, Riazat Ali Shah, Alpesh Ramzani, Dinesh Nakrani, Juma Miyagi, Kenneth Waiswa, Cosmas Kyavuta and Frank Nsubuga.

Read this news also…

Only one Kohli is too much for Pakistan: Unbeaten 4 times in 7 World Cup matches, India won all the matches; but today’s pitch is difficult for batting

Once again the time has come for the biggest show of world cricket. India and Pakistan will face each other for the 8th time in the T20 World Cup today.

On one side, there will be Indian fans’ heroes Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Rishabh Pant and Jaspreet Bumrah on the field. On the other side, there will be Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan and Shaheen Shah Afridi, who gave Pakistan its first win against India in the 2021 World Cup. The question in everyone’s mind is who will win? Read full news…

There is more news…

Source link

Discover more from Divya Bharat 🇮🇳

Subscribe to get the latest posts to your email.