Women’s Big Bash League Final: Sydney Thunder win second WBBL title after 5 years, beating Melbourne Stars by 7 wickets

  • Hindi news
  • Sports
  • Women’s Big Bash League 6th Season: Sydney Thunder Win Second WBBL Title After 5 Years, Beat Melbourne Stars By 7 Wickets In Final

Fed up with Ads? Install Dainik Bhaskar app for news without ads

Sydney33 minutes ago

  • Copy link

This is the second title of the Sydney Thunder. He had earlier won the WBBL title in 2015-16.

Sydney Thunder (SYTW) has won the 6th season of the Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL). He defeated Melbourne Stars (MLSW) by 7 wickets in the final of the WBBL. This is the second WBBL title for Sydney Thunder. Earlier, he won the title in the opening season in 2015-16. Shabnam Ismail of SYTW was adjudged Player of the Match for his superb bowling.

6 Melbourne batsmen could not touch the figure of ten

Winning the toss, the Melbourne Stars team scored 86 runs for 9 wickets in 20 overs. Katherine Brunt scored the most 22 runs (27 balls) for the team. At the same time, Annabel Sutherland scored 20 runs (20 balls) and captain Meg Lanning scored 15 balls 13 runs. Melbourne’s 6 batsmen could not even touch the double figures.

At the same time, Shabnam Ismail and Sammy Jo Johnson took 2–2 wickets for Sydney. Whereas, Samantha Bates, Hanna Darlington, Lauren Smith and Heather Knight got 1–1 wickets.

Captain Rachel and Heather Knight give Sydney another title

The Sydney Thunder team, chasing the 87-run target, achieved this target by losing 3 wickets in 13.4 overs. The team got off to a good start by Tammy Beaumont and Rachel Trainman. Both shared a 24-run partnership for the first wicket. Tammy was dismissed for 16 runs (15 balls). He was lbw out by Brunt.

Rachel and Heather Nide then shared a 20-run partnership for the second wicket. Tren Flintoff was dismissed by Trenman scoring 23 runs (26 balls). Sammy Jo Johnson could not do anything special. Heather and captain Rachel Haynes shared their 33 for the fourth wicket to give Sydney their second title. Melbourne’s Catherine Brunt, Elana King and Tess Flintoff got 1-1 wickets.

The winning teams of WBBL

Season The winner Win margin Runner-up
2015 Sydney thunder 3 wickets Sydney sixers
2016 Sydney sixers 7 runs Perth scorches
2017 Sydney sixers 9 wickets Perth scorches
2018 Brisbane Heat 3 wickets Sydney sixers
2019 Brisbane Heat 6 wickets Adelaide strikers
2020 Sydney thunder 7 wickets Melbourne stars


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *