Women’s T20 World Cup: WC to be held in 2023 instead of 2022; ICC extends schedule due to Commonwealth Games

  • Hindi news
  • Sports
  • ICC Extends Schedule Ahead Of Commonwealth Games, To Be Held In 2023 Instead Of 2022

Fed up with Ads? Install Dainik Bhaskar app for news without ads

Dubai2 days ago

  • Copy link

The ICC had already postponed the 2021 ODI Women’s World Cup to 2022.

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has postponed the Women’s T20 World Cup to be held in 2022. It will now be in February 2023. The tournament was to be held in South Africa in November. The ICC decided to extend it 3 months further in an executive meeting on Thursday. Now the World Cup will be held in South Africa from 9 to 26 February in 2023. The ICC has decided to pursue the T20 World Cup due to the Commonwealth Games being held in July 2022.

The Women’s T20 is also included in the 2022 Common Wealth Games. In such a situation, women players can get enough time to prepare for the World Cup. Keeping this in mind, it has been decided to hold the World Cup in 2023. There is no major event for women in 2023.

The ICC has also postponed the women’s ODI for a year.

Earlier, the ICC postponed the Women’s ODI World Cup to be held in New Zealand in 2021 January-February. It will be held in New Zealand in 2022. At the same time, the ICC had already postponed the proposed men’s T20 World Cup in Australia until 2022 due to Corona this year. Whereas in 2021, the already proposed Men’s T20 World Cup will be held. At the same time, the 2023 ODI World Cup will also be held in India.

8 teams will participate in the Women’s Common Wealth Games

Host England has been given a direct entry for the women’s T20 cricket tournament at the Birmingham Commonwealth Games to be held in 2022. At the same time, the top-6 teams ranking in this tournament to be held between 8 teams will be given direct entry into this tournament. Qualifier games will be held for the remaining space. Currently, Team India is ranked third in the World T20 rankings. Last year, it was decided to include women’s T20 cricket in the Commonwealth Games. The International Cricket Council (ICC) and Common Wealth Games Federation (CGF) gave this information on Wednesday.


Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.