Sports news

Yashasvi to go to England for WTC-2023 final: BCCI asks to practice with red ball; Will replace Gaikwad as stand-by opener

sports desk10 minutes ago

  • copy link

Rajasthan Royals (RR) star opener Yashasvi Jaiswal, who performed brilliantly in the Indian Premier League 2023 (IPL), will head to England for the World Test Championship 2023 (WTC) final. Jaiswal will replace Rituraj Gaikwad in Team India as a stand-by player.

According to media reports, an official of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) told that Gaikwad is getting married early next month, due to which he will not be able to travel to England for the WTC final. In such a situation, Yashasvi has been chosen in his place.

See in the graphics the records of Yashasvi Jaiswal that he made in his name in this IPL season…

BCCI asks Yashasvi to practice with red ball
According to media reports, BCCI has asked Yashasvi to practice with red ball. He already has a UK visa, so he will be leaving for England in a few days. Apart from Rituraj Gaikwad, the BCCI has also initially kept Mukesh Kumar and Suryakumar Yadav as stand-by players for the WTC.

Dravid demands replacement from selectors
A BCCI official told, ‘Jaiswal will join Team India as Gaikwad has told that he will not be able to go to England on time due to his marriage. He would be able to reach there only after June 5, but coach Rahul Dravid had demanded a replacement from the selectors. After this Jaiswal was selected and he will soon leave for England.

Yashasvi did an amazing performance
Yashasvi Jaiswal made many big records in the 16th season of the Indian Premier League. In 14 matches, Jaiswal scored 625 runs at an average of 48 and a strike rate of 164. Rajasthan opener Yashasvi Jaiswal is also the fastest batsman in IPL to complete his fifty in just 13 balls. 21-year-old Yashasvi Jaiswal is among the top 5 batsmen who have scored the most runs in the 16th season of IPL.

Teams of India and Australia for WTC 2023 final-
Team India: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli, Ajinkya Rahane, KS Bharat (wicketkeeper), Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Akshar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Umesh Yadav, Jaydev Unadkat Ishaan Kishan (wicketkeeper).

There is more news…

Source link